features / short stories

moon child // ‘Sonder’ Published by Quotidian Literary Magazine

Featured(15)


I’m so excited to have my short story ‘Sonder’ (definition: the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own…) published online by Quotidian literary magazine!

I had a lot of fun writing this piece as it is quite different from the kind of fiction I usually write (horror, absurdist, fantasy, historical fiction, sci-fi etc.), but I wrote this piece especially to fit the magazine’s theme of quotidian – ‘the everyday’ – and it looks like it’s paid off! (I would really recommend getting to know a publication really well and reading what they’ve published previously to get an idea of the sort of fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction they’re looking for. It helps a lot!) The story is only around 1,000 words – a nice quick read – so if you have a few minutes to spare, please do have a nosy!

Here is an extract from ‘Sonder’:

The subway rolled into the dingy platform, glowing peach and bringing with it a gust of city air that made everyone’s hair fly above their heads. I jumped on, settling down on a lumpy seat in the middle of the carriage.

As the train rumbled into the tunnel – shoving me into the elbows of the old man in the next seat – I stuffed the ticket into my jacket pocket and tried to get my breath back. My stomach was in knots, and for good reason: I was going on a blind date.

It’s a bit of a long story. But after my 24th birthday, I’d given in to societal pressure – and when I say ‘societal’, I mean my grandmother who had ‘two bairns n’ wan mare oan thu way’ when she was my age…

Click here to read the full version of my short story ‘Sonder’ exclusively on the Quotidian website.

You can follow Quotidian on Facebook and Twitter.

sonder-quotidianmag-melissa-wei

What did you think of ‘Sonder’? Let me know in the comment section below.

Image courtesy of Quotidian editor Melissa Reid. You can find her blog here.

3 thoughts on “moon child // ‘Sonder’ Published by Quotidian Literary Magazine

  1. Pingback: moon child // Creative Nonfiction Published by Quotidan Literary Magazine | moon child.

What do you think? Let 'moon child' know!

