features / short stories

‘moon child’ Fiction Published in Germ Magazine

Featured (22)


Happy new year, everyone! It’s been a great start of January for me and I’m on my way to fulfilling one of my New Year’s resolutions (get more fiction published) as I’ve just found out that, ‘The iBrain’, a short story I wrote when I was 18 in my first creative writing semester at university, has been published by Germ Magazine!

germ_youstart_masthead_extended

It had been a long time since I even looked at this story but when I was rummaging through some old folders of short stories and poems a few months ago, I came across it and decided to submit it to Germ Magazine, and they accepted it!

Here is a short extract from ‘The iBrain’, my futuristic, sci-fi short story about how Apple could take over the world:

September 24th, 2097.

Within a year of graduating, my inventions began to attract attention and I was headhunted as an engineer at Apple Inc. I excelled in every enterprise I was involved in and was gradually promoted to CEO. I was even given the prestigious Steve Job’s Award: A prize for revolutionary development of electronics. Awarded to Rebecca Ivy McFall in May, 2085, for entrepreneurial brilliance and innovation at Apple Inc.

I have always been very independent. Even as a little curly redheaded child, I would read alone rather than play with my siblings. I threw myself into my career, putting my relationships second. I have worked at Apple for over 20 years now, and I have developed their most successful products: iTattoo, an automatic machine that can tattoo picture-perfect copies of any photograph in minutes; iPortal, a teleport that can transfer someone from their current location to anywhere on Earth; iTime, a time machine that can transport someone to any period in history or the future; and now iBrain, a device that allows the viewer to see inside the mind of a dead brain. For the iBrain to fulfil its true potential, I need one last ingredient: Dr Jacob S. Fitzpatrick’s brain.

You can read the full version of ‘The iBrain’ on GermMagazine.com

If you’re a writer of fiction or creative nonfiction, submit your work to Germ Magazine for a chance to be published among some amazing work by talented writers. The website has a whole host of writing from short stories and poetry to personal essays and much more.

A big thank you to Germ Magazine for featuring my work!

What did you think of ‘The iBrain’? Let me know in the comment section below.

 

What do you think? Let 'moon child' know!

