sophie's scran - food blog

Sophie’s Scran: Restaurant Review of Metropolitan, Merchant City

Featured (18)


 

So, for lunch yesterday, I decided to go somewhere new and tried Metropolitan, a cocktail bar and restaurant in the heart of Glasgow’s Merchant City!

As part of the set lunch 2 courses for £12 menu, I ordered a starter of black pudding and chorizo with salad and a poached egg. Ordering this dish, I wasn’t sure if I’d like much of it at all (I’m a fussy eater, remember?) and I am not a big salad fan but I was pleasantly surprised with this starter! I’ve tried chorizo (salty and spicy Spanish pork sausage) before and I really like it, and Metropolitan’s chorizo is de-lish. But the biggest surprise was that I loved the black pudding! I had never tried black pudding before, mostly because its appearance put me off. But it was excellent and I could’ve eaten a whole plate full of it on its own.

I also really enjoyed the salad which was a surprise. I usually don’t like any of the green stuff unless it comes with a really good dressing and this one certainly did. The dressing was an orange, meaty, spicy one. (If anyone knows what the name of this dressing might be, let me know in the comment section below! I might actually buy some and start eating salads. Who knows?)

12341279_10208553392781291_3616974334707657559_n

For my main course, I ordered the Metropolitan beef burger served with salad and handcut chips. This dish, too, was excellent with delicious, freshly cut chips and a succulent beef burger with a sweet, soft bun. The dish also came with a tangy relish with added that extra bit of spice to the burger.

12316607_10208553392141275_869659865592018916_n

Overall, I would definitely recommend eating out at Metropolitan especially at lunchtime with this great deal of 2 courses (starter and main course) for only £12 per person!

4/5

Have you tried Metropolitan? Let me know what you thought in the comment section below.

Would you like me to review your eatery? Email me at: sophiemcnaughton.xo@outlook.com

What do you think? Let 'moon child' know!

