features

moon child’s 1st Birthday: A Look Back on a Year of Blogging

GUEST BLOG(1)


Exactly one year ago today, ‘moon child’ was created!

To mark the occasion, I have decided to make a blog post looking back on all the great things that have happened in the last year; accompanied by some of my favourite posts from the last 365 days of blogging.

(My dog Sabre wanted to help out with the selection process…)

tumblr_nwbm5mBej31qic217o3_1280

tumblr_nwbm5mBej31qic217o1_1280


So, lets start at the beginning…

  • October 2014 ~ On this day, a year ago, I started up my WordPress blog and made my first post with a short story I wrote called Myrtle.

In October 2014, I posted a wealth of my short stories and essays on authors such as Herta Muller and Irvine Welsh as well as a Game-of-Thrones-esque short story too.

tumblr_nexepiqGF21qic217o4_1280In November, I also wrote a concrete (visual) poem, which took a bit of a twisted take on the Snow White tale, called The Fairest of Them All which won a prize in my uni class concrete poetry competition!

  • January 2015 ~ So, after settling back into uni after a break over Christmas and New Year, I decided to get more involved in the journalism side of my course and started looking for experience outside of my studies. And that’s when I discovered Scotcampus!

I wrote my first ever Scotcampus article in January, inspired by my Construction of Scotland course, called Scots Slang: are we ‘Bi-Dialectal’ or just ‘Glaikit’? I also blogged about my short story collection Ivy Moon & Other Short Stories going up for sale on Amazon, and how I started The Typewriter Poetry Project.

tumblr_niw9gevJLH1qic217o1_540

fpjiwf

  • 11129899_10206813737570998_6581014411902245147_nApril 2015 ~ April was another busy month as I had articles published with The Strathclyde Telegraph, voting opened on Short Story Sunday with my piece in the March category for Short Story of the Month, and I completed a two week long internship at the Scotcampus head office in Glasgow with my friend Rachael and the fab editor Laura Blackhurst!

Writing lots of pieces, including my Today I’m Wearing series with my friend and model Holly Sutherland, and learning all the ins and outs of editing an online and print magazine, I also wrote an intern diary to document my time at Scotcampus towers.

11136719_10206813739851055_3063472255713238973_n

In May, I was also fortunate enough to be voted as Author of the Month by Short Story Sunday for my piece Ivy Moon, which was a great moment for me as it was the first piece of fiction to be published.

oijiuj

This was also around the time where I really started to develop a voice at CultNoise as I started writing more about the issues that are important to me including: feminism, LGBTQ rights and much more. I also participated in Oh Comley magazine’s Swap a Surprise project and swapped a parcel with a stranger.

  • August 2015 ~ In August, I started writing more TV blogs for Student Rag magazine (including one on E!’s docu-series I am Cait), wrote a piece for Femsplain; wrote a poem, a book review and more articles, and wrote a blog about my trip to Amsterdam with my friend Heather!

In August, I also wrote one of my favourite pieces: a comedy review of Frankie Boyle’s Work in Progress Show. This was a lot of fun for me to write because Frankie is one of my favourite comedians, and because I was writing this post just for my blog and not another publication, this meant I could write however and as much as I wanted. I also had an article published in Scotcampus’ print edition and got to write a Sophie’s Choice TV review on one of my favourite series ever: This Is England.

In August, I was also appointed as the Editor of The University Paper, Glasgow and was lucky enough to be invited down to London for two days training in news writing and media law. This little trip was great as I learned a lot and met some great people! All in all, August was a good month!

11904720_10207800256313350_5334919719002271478_n11900069_10207800262433503_4087400130671523122_n

  • September 2015 ~ In September, I started a new blog feature: Guest Blogs! I’m so glad I started this because through allowing bloggers to guest blog on moon child and vice versa, I’ve opened up moon child to a wider readership and met loads of great bloggers and lovely people!

September saw me becoming the new Lifestyle Editor at CultNoise(!), and I was also lucky enough to be invited along to the Jamie’s Italian Blogger Event as a representative for Scotcampus to sample all the delicious nibbles and yummy cocktails. I also entered my third year at university studying English Literature, Journalism and Creative Writing at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. In September, to mark the first anniversary of Scotland’s IndyRef, I wrote a special blog post/love letter to Scotland accompanied by an opinion piece for CultNoise.

tumblr_ntyhiav5Pb1qic217o5_1280

11935105_10208093905454395_4909600197903927727_n


So, I guess that’s it. That’s my summary of a year blogging for moon child and it’s been one hell of a year! If this is how busy and jam-packed 2014-15 has been, who knows what 2016 has in store? You’ll need to keep on reading and see…

What did you think of my moon child birthday post? Let me know in the comment section below!

You can browse through the last 12 months by clicking on the dropdown archive menu on the right sidebar.

7 thoughts on “moon child’s 1st Birthday: A Look Back on a Year of Blogging

  1. Pingback: ‘moon child’ 2015 Blogging in Review | moon child

What do you think? Let 'moon child' know!

