reviews / sophie's scran - food blog

Sophie’s Scran: Restaurant Review of Jamie’s Italian, Glasgow

After going along to the Jamie’s Italian Blogger Event and sampling the delicious goodies, I couldn’t keep away and took a trip back to Jamie Oliver’s famous restaurant last night.

Since yesterday was (almost) my birthday, we got a free bottle of prosecco for the table! To get this treat, you have to sign up to Jamie’s Gold Club. This is very quick and simple, costs nothing and after you’ve signed up, you receive your card in the post. When you go to Jamie’s, you simply show your card to your server to receive free nibbles, a treat on your birthday and exclusive discounts.


To start, we ordered Jamie’s Ultimate Plank which is the ideal sharing starter with a great selection of nibbles including: artisan fennel salami, mortadella, prosciutto, spiced chicken-liver pâté, truffled salami, and fennel pork scratchings with grissini and music bread.

The plank also has Italian nachos (ravioli), mozzarella and aged pecorino, chilli jam, crispy shallot rings, olives, pickles, grilled marinated peppers and crunchy vegetable slaw with yoghurt and lemon.

The Italian nachos (which can be ordered as a side as part of the ‘bar snacks’ selection) and the truffled salami were my favourites but the whole plank was excellent with fresh meats and innovative culinary creations.

tumblr_nvyt3uvrkk1qic217o4_1280


For the main, I ordered the Ultimate Burger with juicy prime British beef, mortadella, balsamic onions, tomato, provolone, pickles and chillies, along with spicy skinny fries.

I’m a bit of a burger connoisseur and it’s a go-to favourite for me in restaurants and Jamie’s burger certainly didn’t disappoint. The meat was very succulent and fresh, cooked enough that there was no pink (I personally like meat to be quite well done) but not so much that the meat was tough. And the fries were spiced and tasty but not overly hot so I would definitely recommend ordering this!

tumblr_nvyt3uvrkk1qic217o3_1280


Have you ever seen the film Remember Me? (A surprisingly good rom-com, I might add.) Well, there’s a part in that film where Ally (Emilie de Ravin) is talking about desserts. She says:

I have my dessert first…I just don’t see the point in waiting. What if I die eating my vindaloo? It’s possible. Embolism bursts. An asteroid hits the restaurant. I’d die without eating the one thing I wanted most.

Since, like Ally, I have a sweet tooth too, I can relate to this statement. If breaking news came on the TV right now declaring that the world would come to an end in one hour, my first thought would probably be: where’s the cheesecake? And this cheesecake is definitely one that would make you forget about an impending apocalypse. (It made sense in my head.)

The cheesecake with velvety mascarpone and lemon topped with Italian meringue, served with lemon curd and blackcurrants was superb. Cheesecake is by far my favourite dessert so I was excited to see what Jamie’s would be like and it was delicious. While it was creamy, rich and full of flavour, it wasn’t heavy, over-indulgent or overly sweet. The waiter even lit a candle on one of the berries for my birthday (but he decided against getting the entire kitchen staff out to sing ‘happy birthday’ to me, thankfully!).

tumblr_nvyt3uvrkk1qic217o1_1280


Another recommendation would be the passinata dessert cocktail which tastes like a melted Solero ice cream with grey goose mixed it. It might sound strange in theory but it’s delicious!

tumblr_nvyt3uvrkk1qic217o2_1280

I couldn’t recommend Jamie’s enough. The staff are very attentive, organised, friendly and very knowledgeable about the all the produce on offer, and the food was excellent. The menu is very reasonable priced, and Jamie’s is perfect for a family night out or special occasion.

*

A big thank you to Jamie’s Italian Glasgow for their excellent food and service!

Would you like me to review your eatery? Email me at sophiemcnaughton.xo@outlook.com

Featured image created by Sophie McNaughton.

2 thoughts on “Sophie’s Scran: Restaurant Review of Jamie’s Italian, Glasgow

  1. Pingback: moon child’s 1st Birthday: A Look Back on a Year of Blogging | moon child...

What do you think? Let 'moon child' know!

